Shamrock Township is a quickly growing township in northeastern Minnesota’s Aitkin County. Nearby cities include McGregor, Palisade, and Tamarack; unincorporated cities within the township are Minnewawa and Sheshebe. In 2015, Shamrock Township was home to 1,235 residents.

The township is home to several lakes, including Big Sandy Lake, Lake Minnewawa, Round Lake, Horseshoe Lake, Island Lake, Flowage Lake, Anderson Lake, and Mud Lake, which are popular for fishing and recreation. In addition to the many lakes, Shamrock Township contains several acres of state land. Savanna Portage State Park occupies a small area of northern Shamrock Township, while the Mille Lacs Indian Reservation occupies a portion of land in the south.

Township Board of Supervisors & Staff 

Ron Smith, Supervisor– term ends March 2019
Charles Quale, Supervisor – term ends March 2020
Allen Eld, Chairperson – term ends March 2018

John Brula, Treasurer – term ends March 2019
Candace Kral, Clerk – term ends March 2018

Marvin Turner, Township Maintenance
Tim Turner, Township Maintenance

Township Demographics 
2015 Population estimate is 1,235 and Household Estimate is 638.

Links [open in a new page]
→ Aitkin County, Minnesota
→ McGregor Independent School District #4 
→ McGregor Area Chamber of Commerce

→ Minnesota Association of Townships
→ National Association of Townships