## Shamrock Township Annual Meeting Tuesday, March 11, 2008

The annual meeting held in the Town of Shamrock, County of Aitkin, State of Minnesota, was called to order by Clerk Candace Bartel at 8:15 p.m. Twelve residents were in attendance. The clerk led the Pledge of Allegiance. Bob Sannes was selected to serve as moderator. The meeting agenda was reviewed, no changes were made.

The minutes from the March 13, 2007 annual meeting were approved as distributed on a motion by Jerry Pawlak, seconded by Craig Karjalahti. Jerry Pawlak moved to approve the minutes from the June 5, 2007 continued annual meeting as distributed, seconded by Jack Hooper; motion carried. The treasurer's annual report was approved as submitted on a motion by Jerry Pawlak, seconded by Charles Quale.

The clerk read the annual road report summarizing the work done by the road maintenance employees and other road related projects.

Ron Smith reported the new maintenance building is very close to completion. The electric boiler is on back order, finishing of the plumbing and electrical work is in progress, there is an issue with the quality of the painting, tile needs to be put on the bathroom floor, the east approach needs to be poured, the propane tanks need to be buried and a new line run to them, outside painting needs to be done, two floor grates are still needed, and the floors need to be sealed. He is expecting substantial completion of the building by the end of the month. The project was delayed due to supply problems with the steel roof trusses. It was noted that there were no change orders on the project.

The list of organizations requesting funding from the township was reviewed. Nine requests were received. Motion by Richard Cox, seconded by Jerry Pawlak, to refer requests for funding to the town board; motion carried.

The taxable market value and net tax capacity report from the Aitkin county auditor was reviewed. For the assessment year 2007/tax year payable 2008 the township's total taxable market valuation is \$425,444,700 and the net tax capacity is \$4,327,355.

The minutes from the board of audit/budget meeting were reviewed. Jack Brula explained the recommended changes in the tax levy. Anticipated needs for each fund were discussed. The following levy amounts for 2009 were approved:

Revenue fund: \$ 90,000 Motion by Jerry Pawlak, seconded by Craig Karjalahti

Road & Bridge fund: \$320,000 Motion by Jerry Pawlak, seconded by Craig Karjalahti

Building Repair fund: \$ 5,000 Motion by Richard Cox, seconded by Craig Karjalahti

Fire fund: \$ 35,000 Motion by Jerry Pawlak, seconded by Jack Hooper

Sewer fund: 0 Motion by Jerry Pawlak, seconded by Richard Cox

Park/Recreation fund: \$20,000 Motion by Jerry Pawlak, seconded by Jack Brula

Lease/Purchase Loan

Repayment fund: \$80,000 Motion by Kathy LaBerge, seconded by Richard Cox

The total levy for 2009 will be \$550,000.

The election judges reported 50 votes were cast. Charles Quale was re-elected as supervisor with 49 votes, Jack Hooper received one vote. Write-in results for the clerk position were Candace Bartel, 28; Terry Roy, 1; and Midge Wilson, 1. Candace Bartel agreed to serve as elected. The Board of Canvass met following the completion of the vote tally to certify the election results. (Voter turnout was 5.8%; 50 out of 850 registered voters).

Richard Cox moved to set the voting hours for the March 10, 2009 annual township election as 2 p.m. to 8 p.m., seconded by Craig Karjalahti; motion carried. Ron Smith moved to set the time and place for the March 10, 2009 annual meeting at 8:15 p.m. at the townhall; seconded by Jack Hooper; motion carried.

After reviewing the rates for publishing legal notices it was recommended to continue using the Voyageur Press. The posting locations for township notices were reviewed, no changes were recommended. Notices are posted at the townhall, Sather's store, Willey's Bait Shop, and Whispering Pines.

The Board of Equalization and Appeal will be held on Friday, April 25, at 9 a.m. The spring clean-up day is scheduled for Saturday, April 26, from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the townhall and the LMA garage.

Meeting adjourned at 9:43 p.m. on a motion by Richard Cox, seconded by Nancy Karjalahti.

Candace Bartel Judy Haussner Shamrock Township Clerk Election Judge

Richard Cox Kathy LaBerge Election Judge Election Judge

MINUTES WERE APPROVED AT THE MARCH 10, 2009
ANNUAL MEETING