Shamrock Township Annual Meeting Tuesday, March 14, 2017

The annual meeting held in the Town of Shamrock, County of Aitkin, State of Minnesota, was called to order by Clerk Candace Kral at 8:15 p.m.; nineteen residents and one guest were in attendance. The clerk led the Pledge of Allegiance. Robert Sannes was selected as moderator on a nomination by Richard Biernat, seconded by Charles Quale. The meeting agenda was accepted.

March 8, 2016 Annual Meeting Minutes were read by the clerk. A motion made by Richard Biernat, seconded by Frank Merry, to approve the annual meeting minutes from the March 8, 2016 meeting; motion carried.

Treasurer John Brula read the treasurer's annual report. The treasure's 2016 annual report was approved on a motion by Richard Biernat, seconded by Shirley Winegar; motion carried.

The following agencies sent requests for donations: ANGELS; Big Sandy Water Institute; Crisis Line & Referral Service; First Call 211; Habitat for Humanity; Riverwood Foundation and Support Within Reach. Christine Bergman, representative of Seven County Senior Federation, informed the attendees of the purpose and function of the organization. She also related how it helps its seniors whether they are members or not and encourage the township to support the organization through donations. Katie Nelson, representative for Riverwood Foundations, thanked the township for the donation support in the past and requested continued support. She furnished the community with the plans for the organization for the upcoming year and how it will help the residents of the township.

Twenty-eight people voted in the annual election. The results were as follows: Supervisor: Charles Quale 26: Treasurer: John Brula 28. There were no write-ins.

The annual road report summarizing the work done by the road maintenance employees during the year was provided to the residents and read by the clerk. The board answered questions regarding any plans for upcoming road projects

The taxable market value and net tax capacity report from the Aitkin county auditor was distributed for review. For the assessment year 2016/tax year payable 2017 the township's total taxable market valuation is \$402,823,806 and the net tax capacity is \$4,097,347.

The McGregor Fire Department annual reports were distributed for review. The payment for 2016/payable 2017 payment is \$77,970.98; the 2017/payable 2018 payment will be \$85,671.33.

The minutes from the Board of Audit/Budget meeting held Tuesday February 7th was distributed and read by the clerk.

The Board of Audit recommendations were reviewed. The residents discussed and reviewed the current and past levies. Motion made by Richard Biernat, seconded by Frank Merry, to set the 2018 levies as recommend by the Shamrock Town Board; the funds' levies to be as listed:

Revenue fund: \$ 75,000 Road & Bridge fund: \$285,000 Building Repair fund: \$ 30,000 Fire fund: \$ 85,000 Sewer fund: 5,000 Park/Recreation fund: \$ 20,000 Lease/Purchase Loan Blacktop repair fund \$100,000

Repayment fund: \$80,000

The total levy for 2017 will be \$680,000

Motion passed unanimously.

The residents were informed that the township could not have an appreciation celebration for the township in the event an occasion should arise without authorization by the citizens at the annual meeting. Motion by Rich Biernat, seconded by Charles Quale, for the expenditure allowance of \$2,500 at the discretion of the board for appreciation/celebration of volunteers and/or special service efforts and recognition of retirees to Shamrock Township; motion passed unanimously.

Nicole Eld, together with other members of the chamber board, presented to the electoral of the Shamrock Township the work she has been doing for the McGregor Area Chamber of Commerce and her desire to have a 3% Lodging Tax imposed in Shamrock Township for the purpose of the promotion of the area as a tourist destination. She addressed the residents how the Chamber of Commerce would be using the money, the financial benefits to the area and that the township receives 5% of the funds for the township's use. It was explained that this is not a tax on the residents of the Township, it is paid through the hotels, resorts and vacation rentals less than 30 continuous days rental. It was also expressed that the lodging tax must first be approved by the electors of the Township before the Town Board can act on it. The clerk provided the residents with and read Resolution No. 2017-3, Resolution Authorizing the Imposition of a Local Lodging Tax that was supplied by the township's attorney. Motion made by Katie Nelson, seconded by Barb Martz, to approved Resolution No. 2017-3, Resolution Authorizing the Imposition of a Local Lodging Tax; Motion passed unanimously.

It was suggested that the township's portion of the Lodging Tax could be put into the Township's Recreation Fund. The residents favored the idea.

The residents were informed that the Town Board will address the Lodging Tax and review a resolution that will require the board's vote and approval at their next Regular Board Meeting in order for the tax to be imposed within the Township.

A motion made by Frank Merry, seconded by Tony Carr, to set the voting hours for the March 13, 2018, annual township election as 2 p.m. to 8 p.m. at the town hall; motion carried. Motion made by Frank Merry, seconded by Richard Biernat, to set the time for the March 13, 2018, annual meeting at 8:15 p.m. to be held at the town hall; motion carried.

The rates for publishing legal notices were distributed and reviewed. It was recommended to continue to use both *The Voyageur Press* and *Aitkin Independent Age* for legal notices. The posting locations for township notices were reviewed. The township will continue with current posting locations. Notices are posted at the town hall, Sather's store, Willey's Bait Shop, and Whispering Pines.

The Board of Equalization and Appeal meeting will be held on Monday, April 24, at 9 a.m. at the town hall.

The spring clean-up day is scheduled for Saturday, April 29, from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the town hall.

Meeting adjourned at 9:26 p.m. on a motion by Rich Biernat, seconded by Shirley Winegar, motion carried.

March 14, 2017

Candace Kral	Robert Sannes	_
Shamrock Township Clerk	Moderator	

MINUTES WERE APPROVED AT THE MARCH 13, 2018, ANNUAL MEETING